๐Ÿค” Who's Umi? My career so far! ๐Ÿ˜

๐Ÿค” Who's Umi? My career so far! ๐Ÿ˜

The story of the Code Explorer ๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿฟโ€๐Ÿš€. It isn't a superhero origin story but it's mine

ยท

4 min read

TL;DR

It's about my life. Just your average developer bouncing from place to place till I found somewhere worth bouncing in one spot for โšฝ ๐Ÿคญ .

๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿฟ Introduction

Hello World! (This greeting might be played out now ๐Ÿ˜…) My name is Umaesh Sundaralingam and I'm a 29 year old soccer-loving, coding-enthusiast who also dabbles in the forbidden world of crypto! I graduated in 2016 with an Advanced Diploma at George Brown College in the Computer Programmer Analyst program. Since graduation, I scoured the Greater Toronto Area for internship roles, entry-level positions but with the learning I had done in college, I wasn't prepared for the real world. 5 years later, I had my big break๐Ÿ’ฅ and I'm currently working as a Software Engineer at SearchKings, a digital advertising agency in Toronto, Canada.

How did I get here, you ask? Well, this is my story!

๐Ÿ“š College Days

When I was a wee little boy, a high schooler debating on what undergraduate programs to apply to, I was between Accounting and Computer Science. What I felt was my biggest regret until recently was when I brought this up at a family get-together. My older cousin convinced my parents that there isn't a future with computers and that I should stick to Accounting. My parents listened...I followed. 3 years later, hating the Accounting program I was in at Brock University, I decided I couldn't live the next 45+ years possibly doing something I didn't absolutely love.

I dropped out.

I dropped out and stumbled upon the Computer Analyst Program at a college in Downtown, Toronto. I packed my bags, and moved back home! The next 3 years at college flew by, learning about computer hardware to various courses including (HTML, CSS, Javascript, C#, PHP, Systems Design, and a few others). The program itself wasn't anything near perfect, but it taught me the art of self-learning.

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-23 at 11.05.22 AM.jpeg My now wife and I at my convocation in 2016

๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿฟโ€๐Ÿ’ผ Adulting?

My first break after graduation was working as a Web Developer Intern at Savage Arms, a gun manufacturing plant in the summer of 2016. I worked on SQL Server Reporting Services (SSRS) reports for the owners as well as a Guest Registration app in ASP.NET. It was an amazing experience living out on my own and spending the time outside of work running around catching Pokemon ๐Ÿ‘พ (Pokemon GO released this summer).

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 11.10.47 AM-min.jpeg On my last day at work, I got to hold one of their biggest rifles, chonky boy!

My next role was in the summer of 2017 as a Web Developer Intern at the Bank of Montreal. I worked in the Capital Markets department and my main duty was to build a reporting tool for the analysts/associates on the trade floor to better visualize internal analysis using Tibco's Spotfire. I also created a software utility to automate the process of ensuring that our various software service endpoints were healthy and running.

All this sounds like I made it in my field but I wasn't satisfied. I was jobless a year between summer internships. I spent the time in between internships applying to jobs and playing Fortnite ๐ŸŽฎ . I was also freelancing, creating WordPress websites for family and friends to get by. It wasn't until 2018, a year after my BMO internship that I finally found a full-time job. A job at a company which would then, change my life.

๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿฟโ€๐Ÿ’ผ Present Day

I've been working at SearchKings for 1,293 days now (~3.5 years from the day I posted this article). I started as a Digital Operations Associate, installing tracking codes and other tools to customer sites which required a bit of programming experience and on my time off, I enrolled in a Udemy bootcamp, specifically, Colt Steele's, Web Developer Bootcamp (which is now refreshed for 2022)...and then it hit me.

I finally found the reason why I loved programming and computer science back when I was in high school. I loved building things and these programs, websites and tools/utilities I made, brought me a joy that couldn't be matched (sorry wife if you're reading this ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ’ ). I was then approached by the Director of another department after seeing my interest and possibly my growth as a developer to join his team, as a Software Engineer (fancy eh? ๐Ÿฅณ ).

WhatsApp Image 2021-12-25 at 11.43.35 AM.jpeg

a WFH picture posted on my Instagram

I don't regret that decision of pursuing Accounting back in grade 12. If I didn't, I wouldn't be here today, being the person I am.

Thank you for reading and if you enjoyed this, please give me a follow! I'll be posting more regularly and would appreciate the support! ๐Ÿš€

ย